Spun from Ink’s New Year

Hey everyone! I hope that all of you had a safe and exciting New Year’s Eve!

I am a little reluctant to see 2014 go, regardless of some of the shit that happened. I finally took a creative writing class last semester, which led to a lot of great things for me. One, it helped me get closer to two amazing young ladies. Two, it led me to getting an editorial position at Display, my school’s twice-yearly literature and art publication. Since I’m presently thinking about going into publishing, it was great to hear what our adviser had to say and to have the hands on experience. I was also really excited to have one of my poems published in it as well. I’m hoping I’ll be able to get a link to share with you guys because I am really proud of what I wrote.

That class also pushed me to create Spun from Ink. It gives me a place to talk about the thing I love the most, and has already helped me develop a great friendship with Kate at The Magic Violinist. She’s an absolute sweetheart and I always look forward to reading her comments and emails. Hopefully, she’s just the first of many other writers that I will be able to connect with through this blog. I also love the feeling of pride I get when I look at how much work I’ve put into this. I also want to thank all of you for reading what I have to say. It makes me so happy to think that my advice is helping other writers.

I’m looking forward to transferring to Grand Valley State University and moving out almost more than anything else. I became really familiar with the area thanks to my boyfriend, since GVSU is ten minutes away from his house. Of course, he’s going to Ohio next year, but we won’t talk about that here.

I’m not a big fan of New Year’s resolutions, but I feel like I have so much going on that having a few goals will help me stay focused and motivated for the next twelve months. They’re not much, but here they are:

  1. Be be kinder to myself.

I’ve been stuck in a rut of negative thinking for way too long. I’ve come to realize that it’s not just hurting me, but hurting the people who care about me as well. Besides, I’m going to have better things to use my energy on. I don’t want to let school, work, and family keep controlling so much of my life. By spending more time doing things like reading, writing, and knitting, I’m hoping that I can feel a little more satisfied with myself.

  1. Keep a journal.

I have a difficult time saying the things I’m thinking out loud. This causes a lot of problems in my relationships. It often turns me into a doormat, since I’m too scared to sound like an idiot if I do stick up for myself. I’m hoping that writing out my thoughts every night can help me be more comfortable talking about the way I feel and organize my thoughts.

  1. Try new things.

Going to an actual university and living close to campus is going to open so many doors for me. I’m really hopeful that I’ll be able to really put myself out there and connect with other people. I’m really not a risk-taker, but I’m realizing that being scared is limiting me far too much.

Yes, I know that was pretty personal, and you are all getting irritated because “Nicole, this is a writing blog, not your diary” but I kind of don’t care. Actually, I am really thankful that I have the chance to share these things with you. It just feels freeing to put my thoughts into the world, I guess. Because of that, I’m highly tempted to make a personal blog, but that’s another conversation for another day.

If you have any New Year’s resolutions or reflections you’d like to share, feel free to mention them in the comments or you can tag me on twitter. I hope you all know that I care so much about all of you, even if I don’t know who you are, so if there is something here that you relate to and want to talk to me about, don’t hesitate to email me (SpunFromInk@gmail.com) either.

Love, Nicole

(PS: Don’t forget the new deadline for the Weekly Writing Invitation is January 6th! I am really hoping that I get the chance to see some of your work!)

2 thoughts on “Spun from Ink’s New Year

  1. Aww, thanks for mentioning me. 🙂 I’m so glad we got in touch. Meeting new people is my absolute favorite thing about blogging.

    Ooh, I would love to see your poems! I’m not much of a poet myself, but I’m a great cheerleader. 😉

    I totally disagree that a blog has to be one thing: writing blog, book blog, craft blog, journal, etc. I think it can be anything you want it to be. I wouldn’t even know how to begin categorizing my blog, because I talk about so many different things.

    Like

    • It’s no problem, honey. You’ve given me a lot of motivation to start putting effort into reading and writing again.
      might put a couple of my poems up here. Since some of them have several drafts, it might be a good thing to use when I talk about editing.
      I guess you do have a point about the categorizing thing, but I think my seventy-some pinterest boards kind of points out my obsessive compartementalizan. I’m goingto give it some more thought, because I talk about using your own experiences to improve your work. I gues we’ll just have to see.
      (Typed on my iphone, so I apologize for any weird typing errors)

      Like

Leave a Reply

