So Many Books, So Little Time (Also, Writing Invitation Submission Deadline!)

First of all, please note that the deadline for my first writing invitation is tonight at 11:59 PM EST. Tomorrow, I will be posting a new invitation, regardless of if I receive entries. Even if you have just a little time to write something up, don’t be afraid to send it in to me! I’d really love to have somebody’s work to post, and I’m really excited to get in contact with you guys.

Anyway, I’m  looking forward to a very busy semester. I start my last three at GRCC next week, and then it’s off to Grand Valley. I’ve also realized that maybe I should’ve spent more time applying for scholarships, but I think that late is still better then never. Even though I am going to be swamped, I still look forward to sharing my thoughts here with all of you, and I promise that I will try to post something of relevance at least once a week, but please forgive me if I slip up. This blog is really important to me for a lot of reasons, so I am going to put as much effort into this as my priorities allow.

To top it all off, I’ve realized that I really need to start reading more. I started several books last year, but left several unfinished. In the hopes of making my feel more accountable for my reading, I figured I’d list my goal books here. I know that my list is going to seem miniscule compared to some of yours, but I know that I need to set reasonable goals considering how much time I will actually be able to devote to my own things.

So, here’s my modest list:

To finish:

Star Wars Trilogy -George Lucas (Isn’t the hardcover pretty?)

Shatter Me – Tehereh Mafi  (I loved the beginning, and I’ve finally made my way into a section that I piqued my interest again.)

The Scorch Trials – James Dashner (I just love this series. Also, the Maze Runner movie was freaking awesome, if you were wondering.)

On my bookshelf:

A Great and Terrible Beauty – Libba Bray

Clariel – Garth Nix (Again, showing off my “fancy” signed copy. I might have to go through and reread the first three, but I remember that I couldn’t put them down.)

Lord of the Rings Trilogy – J.R.R. Tolkien (I finished The Hobbit over the summer, so I’m so excited to continue my adventures in Middle Earth.)

The Dark Is Rising sequence -Susan Cooper

To buy:

Hollow City – Ransom Riggs (Waiting for it to come out in paperback so that it’s a bit easier on my wallet. It’s been really hard, since I loved Miss Peregrine’s House for Peculiar Children)

Etiquette & Espionage – Gail Carriger

All Our Yesterdays – Cristin Terill (Kate gave it some very high praise, so I’m pretty excited)

I feel like I should keep adding more, but I’m trying to set reasonable goals here. I think I’ll start with these and see what happens. I might write a post about some of the books I read in 2014 later, but only if you all won’t judge me because I think that’s seven books total. If you have any suggestions, let me know in the comments!

Love,

Nicole

8 thoughts on “So Many Books, So Little Time (Also, Writing Invitation Submission Deadline!)

  1. I am definitely entering your next writing invitation. πŸ™‚ Very excited.

    I know I’ve said it before, but All Our Yesterdays is so freakishly good. It has Divergent levels of excitement and danger. Another book I’ve read recently that’s really good is Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by A.S. King. I did a review for it on my blog yesterday.

    Miss Peregrine’s has been on my TBR shelf for ages. I need to get on it this year! πŸ˜›

    Random note: I completely caught up on “Supernatural” yesterday! πŸ™‚ I was telling my parents a few days ago that I was sad, because I only had one episode left on Netflix. And, awesome parents that they are, they suggested checking the CW or Hulu for episodes. Sure enough, the five most recent episodes were on Hulu, so I bought the first four on Amazon and blazed through them in a day and a half. So excited for 1/20!

    Like

    • I can’t wait to read your entry! The things you’ve put up on your blog have really intrigued me.
      Right now I’m working on finishing up Star Wars, and got a random story idea from it that I’m messing with to see if I can make it work, even though I have zero experience with this type of sci-fi writing.
      I read your review about Glory O’Brien and it sounds really fascinating. I’ll add it to my list, but only if you read Miss Peregrine’s for me. The photography Riggs adds in really adds to the mood of the story as well. I’m hoping to reread it soon, after I get around to pre-orderingΒ Hollow City.
      Random Note Response: I still have to catch up on Arrow and then figure out where I left off on Supernatural last time I had Netflix. Kudos to your parents for being so helpful, though. Do you have any ideas about what the next series you’re going to start watching on Netflix is? I know that I was pretty into FringeΒ  last time, which is pretty interesting in a strange, not really sure about what is going on exactly kind of way. Time travel stuff tends to make that happen, I suppose.

      Like

      • Thanks! πŸ™‚ It is really fascinating. I’ve never read anything like it. Will do! I’ve flipped through the book to look at the pictures, and they’re creepy, but really cool. I’m excited to read it.

        Random note response response: I’m not sure what I’ll watch yet, but my brother’s suggested “Merlin” to me a few times, so I might watch that. I’ve also been told that I need to watch “Firefly,” “Monk,” and “Teen Wolf.” I was going to go back and watch “Classic Who,” but Netflix seems to only have a few of the episodes. πŸ˜› I’ve never heard of “Fringe,” but I’m putting it on my list!

        Like

Leave a Reply

