Productive Procrastination For Writers: Pinterest

My obsession with Pinterest is reflected in my 77 different boards and over 6,000 pins. I use it for pretty much every aspect of my life, including my writing. Knowing that there are many other people who are just as obsessed with Pinterest as I am, I thought that I would share a few of the ways I use Pinterest when it comes to writing.


How To Use Pinterest To Improve or Procrastinate On Your Writing

Using Secret Boards to Organize Story Ideas

I love making secret boards on Pinterest. I have one for stuff I want to show to my boyfriend, one for blog ideas, and several for story ideas that I’m in the process of developing. I like having some visual aids when I’m working on my stories, and Pinterest actually has a ton of great concept art you can search for to find inspiration for characters and settings. I also like to repin items from some of my other boards, like my fashion-related or art-related boards, to get inspiration for characters and settings. I might ignore the captions on my other boards, but for these story boards, I like to leave a note about why I’m pinning it so that when I look at it later, I’ll be able to quickly remember my thought process about a specific image.

Even though these boards are secret, I’m going to show you some screen caps from my Out of the Forest board so you can get a feel for what I’m talking about. You can click on the images to enlarge them, or click here to see an excerpt from Out of the Forest.

Out Of The Forest Story Inspiration Board

Out of The Forest Story Inspiration Board

Saving Writing Advice and Inspiration

Beyond using Pinterest for specific stories, I love browsing through the wealth of amazing writing prompts and links to awesome writing advice I can use right away or save for later. While some people like to sort these out into multiple boards, Originally, I only had one writing board to keep all of my advice and inspiration in, but during my Pinterest overhaul during August of 2015, I ended up separating my Writing Board into several different boards.

Writing: Advice and Encouragement

I use this board to save articles I find around the web about writing, as well as encouraging quotes and motivation to keep me going.

Writing: Prompts and Challenges

There are so many amazing writing prompts from all over the web available on Pinterest. Having them all in one board gives me a place to go when I’m feeling stuck or need to take a break from my current projects.

Writing: Character Inspiration

I love looking at pictures of people and creating stories for them. Whenever I’m scrolling through pinterest and see an image of a person that sparks my interest, I make sure to pin it to this board to save for later.

Other Inspiring Boards:

There are so many different places both in real life and on Pinterest that a writer can find inspiration. Below, I’ve listed a few of my other boards that I have found images that pique my creative curiosity.


What are some ways you procrastinate that make you feel more productive? What are some of your favorite writing pins on Pinterest? Where do you find inspiration? Leave your answers, questions or other responses below in the comments section, or e-mail me at SpunFromInk@gmail.com. You can also tweet at me using @SpunFromInk, or follow me on Pinterest:

Love,

Nicole

5 thoughts on “Productive Procrastination For Writers: Pinterest

    • I’m the same way. I’ll get on for a “just a few minutes” and then I’ll end up forgetting everything else I had to do. Pinterest is a really great tool, though- if you actually apply the things you’re pinning to your life.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ohhh, yes, Pinterest is a fantastic resource! I stayed away from it for a long time because I thought it was more for like parents finding ideas to decorate their house or backyard. I didn’t realize how much more you could do with it. I make storyboards all. the. time. And I love casting actors and actresses as my characters for my dream movie, if there ever came to be one. 😉 Great post!

    Like

    • Thanks! I have like four different story boards going right now. Even if I have a story on the back burner, being able to collect little bits of inspiration for it helps a lot 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

