The 7/7/7 Challenge (Meet My WIP)

Alright, so I’ve been nominated by the lovely Rae over at The Wallflower to complete the 7/7/7 Challenge. You can find her super awesome contribution, which makes me so excited to read the rest of her story, here. If you’re note familiar with the challenge, here’s a super quick rundown:

  • Go to page 7 of your WIP
  • Find line 7
  • Share lines 7-14 (7 lines) somewhere on the internet
  • When you’re done, nominate 7 other writers to post their own excerpts

MEET MY WIP

I’m also really excited about this because I’ve FINALLY DECIDED ON A STORY IDEA FOR THAT NOVEL I’M SUPPOSED TO BE WRITING THIS YEAR! It’s something that started with an idea I had when I was very little, but really came into bloom about a year ago because of a notecard I’d written a random writing prompt on:

This group is composed of four people with differing views on trade. They are all women.

Not a very exciting prompt, right? That’s why I’d chosen it out of the group, but now I have this massive New Adult Fantasy on my hands that I am VERY intimidated by, but can’t wait to share with all of you. Now that we all know what’s up, it’s time to share that excerpt, although I will remind you that this is from a RD and I have a propensity for excessively long sentences:

Lord Ragan Carmar had read the enthusiastic letter from his wife a dozen times, but was still trying to comprehend the magnitude of the project that she had proposed to the Council. Dreori said it was supposed to start small, but it seemed that she and the other three women left in charge had decided to add a small city to the already bustling Cathara. It was a brilliant concept, of course, but it was going to be expensive to execute. Ragan had actually found himself on the verge of tears the first and second times he’d read over the proposed budget for the “Center of Arts and Learning,” which his wife had so thoughtfully included in her letter. His fears were somewhat assuaged by the note written in her neat hand at the bottom of the formal document:

“It might be wise to mention to King Hammond that this project will doubtlessly benefit Illanya’s topnotch craftsmen. Their help would be needed to not only build the Center, but we would be honored if some of them remained to share their learning.”

It’s not a particularly compelling excerpt from my freewriting session last year, but it’s a good way to introduce the heart of my untitled story, the center that Dreori is describing. I won’t spoil anymore for you, even though I could gush all day about how beautiful and complicated this world is.

Now, if my list of nominations seems a little odd, that’s because I’ve nominated a few of my twitter followers that I just want to hear more from about their stories. Naturally, even if you’re not on this list, feel free to pretend I’ve nominated you and participate, as long as you link to your piece in the comments so that I get to read what you’ve written. Of course, linking back here is always welcome as well!

Nominations:

  1. Brandy Frank
  2. Victoria Fry
  3. Laura @ Ginger & Books
  4. Annie Hawthorne
  5. Jessica @ My Awkward Life
  6. Stefanie MacWilliams
  7. Katie Masters

Make sure to send me a link to see your posts, ladies!

Lots of love,

Nicole

5 thoughts on “The 7/7/7 Challenge (Meet My WIP)

  1. Nicole this is so great!

    This is so exciting; that excerpt might not have been the most exciting (your words, not mine) but it’s an excellent sample of your writing style! I can’t wait to find out more. You said this is High Fantasy? Anything else you can share? *nudge nudge*

    xo

    Like

    • Thanks Rae! I might post some more as I start making this jumbled 20 pages of free writing into a story idea, I’ll be sharing some of my characters with you. I have a pretty neat post idea I’ve been saving for NaNoWriMo time that might be good to introduce my characters and setting and all that fun stuff with.

      Like

  2. Eek! I love fantasy, and the fact that this is New Adult plus with intense worldbuilding? Color me intrigued.

    Also, I don’t think the snippet is dry! It’s a compelling peek into a story that I now am on pins and needles to know more about. ^_^

    (thanks for the nomination, Nicole!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

