Monthly Wrap-Up: September 2015

At the end of every month, I’ll be sharing some of updates from Spun from Ink and my life with all of you guys. Why? Because I want to be honest about what’s going on here at Spun from Ink, and I want to hold myself more accountable to my goals by sharing them with you.

September 2015 Wrap-Up

Blog News:

Posts From September:

Write, Sleep, Repeat:

Write Sleep repeat is a writing advice and inspiration group board on Pinterest. Each week, I post a new theme for us to focus our pins on.

September Stats

August was another pretty awesome month for growing Spun from Ink. I beat my most page views in one day record, and I’m now back to the number of views and visitors I was seeing in January, right before my accidental hiatus, which was previously my most successful month. I also started getting traffic from Pinterest, which is exciting, even though I’m planning on putting off a full-blown Pinterest plan until after I move to Spunfromink.com so that  I don’t have to worry about people going to the wrong site.

  • 144 Page Views
  • 56 Visitors
  • 36 Twitter Referrals (25% of Traffic)
  • 26 Pinterest Referrals (18% of Traffic)

Blog Income and Expenses

This is the first month that I need to share this section! That’s a little weird, and it’s not very exciting, but getting into the habit now will hopefully make sure I’m tracking it when things start getting awesome and complicated around here.

Total Expenses for September: 31.77

  • Domain Name Purchase
  • Monthly Web Hosting (Good Until Oct. 30)

No income yet, but I’ve got all kinds of exciting ideas coming up. If you want to see more, check out my free Pre-Interview Worksheet. It’s a great tool for organizing interview information and making sure you’re ready to do a research interview.

Spun From Ink’s Big Move

Okay, I was a bit overambitious this month, thinking that I would be able to get Spunfromink.com up and running while getting settled in to a new school and working and continuing to post super-detailed and awesome posts with worksheets. I’m planning on digging in during the first few weeks of October and really getting everything ready to go. The only downside to this is that you probably won’t be hearing a ton from me next month, but it will so be worth it!

Things that are done:

  • Layout and Design
  • Font Styles
  • Sidebar Widgets

Things to Complete this month:

  • About Page
  • Copyright and Permissions Page
  • Post Archives
  • Blog Header

Writing News

My Novel

This month may have been great for learning more about writing, but as far as my novel goes…not so hot, actually. I am excited to share the would-be prologue (if I did the prologue thing) with all of you sometime next month, once I get everything hammered down a bit more. I did write out the start of the opening chapter, but I also accidentally deleted it while typing it on my phone with Evernote. I’m actually pretty okay with it, since I’m taking it as a sign from the writing gods that I need to do a little more work planning and digging into worldbuilding.

Good news is that the lovely and amazing Kristen from She’s Novel made this awesome Novel Planner and I’ve been raving about how badly I want one on twitter and I FINALLY HAVE IT! Weird thing is, I can’t decide if I’m more excited because of the “daily planner” or the “for writers” part. Keep an eye out for a review of my experience coming soon!

Writing for School

I’m taking three writing classes right now, but I’d have to say my favorite is my fiction workshop. I’ve already written two flash fiction stories, one of which I’m very impressed with and might post here after I polish it, and I have a short story due this week that I just need to revise a little bit. Also, I’d like to give a HUGE shout out to Brandy Frank and Rae Oestreich for being member of my writing village (which I will be writing a post on soon) and offering their support and advice while we all navigate the collegiate writing arena.

Personal News

My Thoughts on Going to GVSU

So going to Grand Valley finally is both amazing and…kind of lonely. After building up a life going to Community College, it’s been really hard to get settled in to a new one at GV, especially since many of my friends from CC are off doing their own things, including my boyfriend. It’s getting a lot better now, Another aspect I’m struggling with is simply managing my time. Thanks to needing to fit a bunch of prerequisite courses into my schedule, I’m going to four days a week, which I didn’t do at all last year, and not getting home until 6:30 on school nights.

I am learning a lot here, though. I could probably write an entire post series about all of the AMAZING things I’m learning in my fiction workshop class. I’m reading so many interesting things in all of my writing classes as well, and breaking these things down is really helping me learn a lot about storycrafting. I can’t wait to share some of my thoughts on my textbooks and classes with you as well!

My thoughts on Long-Distance Relationships

I got to see my boyfriend last weekend for the first time in a month, and it was pretty great. We celebrated our two year anniversary (September 30th) early by going to see The Scorch Trials and going to a friend’s wedding. It was lovely and amazing, and I only cried like right before I had to leave Saturday night and just for a little bit. Now, I have to wait until Halloween to go hand out candy with him for a few hours. We don’t really know what’s going on past that. I mean, him coming up for Halloween wasn’t even supposed to happen, but his job here needed a manager to cover the weekend. I’m very thankful.

Okay, now that I’m done ranting, I’m going to talk about some of the things I’ve learned about doing the long-distance relationship thing:

1. Appreciate the little things

I have my boyfriends’s temporary city of residence (I don’t call it home. He just nods and smiles.) in the weather app on my phone. He has my hometown, and where I go to school (his hometown) in his. We check the weather for each other when we’re on the phone talking about our plans for the weekend.  It makes us feel closer just knowing such a major detail about the other’s day. He also likes to tease me because it’s warmer in Ohio.

2. Get some facetime

I have an iPhone, and I swear by facetime. We use it when we watch “our” TV shows (Agents of SHIELD, Castle and Gotham) so we can share our reactions during commercial breaks. We send photos of ourselves to each other all of the time. It might not be the real, touchable, thing, but just seeing the my boyfriend’s face with his goofy grin can make me smile.

3. Focus on yourself

Having a long-distance relationship is a challenge, but it’s also an amazing chance to focus on yourself and doing the things you love. Even if I miss it, not having to try and fit a date night into my hectic school schedule leaves me a lot more time to work on homework and to work on my blog.

There’s so many more things I could tell all of you about, but I want to let you guys share information about what’s going on in your life! Any exciting blog changes coming up? Did you read an awesome book or write something super cool? Do you want to share your own story about long-distance? Let me know in the comments, and make sure to spread the love on twitter using @SpunFromInk.

Love,

Nicole

One thought on “Monthly Wrap-Up: September 2015

  1. Awww Nicole, you are so sweet! Not sure I was super helpful (yet) but I am definitely looking forward to sharing more with each other. I have felt the same about transferring to my University and missing the few friends I had at the CC. I get REALLY excited when I meet writer peeps on campus though this is slow going.

    SUPER excited to hear more about what you’re learning – I plan to share as well. I could stay in those writing classes all day. The most I’ve been away from my husband is about a week but when we are apart we always make sure to call to say goodnight. It’s a nice way to end the day 🙂

    Loved reading about your September! Here’s to an awesome October (my favorite month!!)

    – B

    Like

Leave a Reply

