Sharing my Secrets: Behind the Scenes Writing Tag

Hello friends!

I’ve been tagged by the fabulous and lovely Annie from Curious Wren to do the Behind the Scene Writing tag! If you haven’t looked at her blog yet or followed her on twitter, then I suggest that you do that right away. Everyone could use another sweetheart in their lives, after all!

I’m so excited to share some of my writing secrets with you guys, even if some of them are a little embarrassing. Also, I rearranged the questions so that I’m not repeating myself with some of the info.

Behind the Scene Writing Tag.

Where do you write?

I’ve started using Evernote, so I can write just about anywhere, and I do take advantage of that as often as I can. Most of the time, though, I like to write in my bedroom, even though it’s terribly messy and my bed is not the most comfortable place because there’s awkward spaces between the mattress and the frame and the wall where pillows and blankets like to disappear in. I’d like to have a desk, but my room is very small and already filled with furniture.

What do you write on? Laptop or paper?

Like I mentioned in the first question, I use the Evernote app on my phone and laptop so that I can make my writing portable without having to carry even more stuff in my already stupid-heavy backpack. If portability wasn’t an issue and I knew I’d be able to keep track of it, I’d probably use a notebook instead, even though I’m a lefty that gets paper-burn on my pinky when I write too much at one time and it hurts.

Is there a certain snack you like to eat while writing?

Because I usually write in my room and I’m a messy eater, I tend to avoid eating and writing at the same time. I do love having my water bottle (or juice when I’m spoiling myself) close by.

When do you normally write? Night, afternoon, or morning?

I try to write whenever I can get it in. I found out over the weekend that writing is a really good way for me to wake up, since I can just type away on my phone and don’t have to get out of bed right away, and I want to try and keep doing that on days when I don’t have to get up and go get other things done.

How often do you write a new novel?

This is embarrassing, but I’m never actually finished a novel-length piece- not even a first draft. I like to blame some of this on really not having any kind of education about story-writing until my second year of college. I didn’t know that bouncing around to different ideas as soon as they hit you was a bad idea, and now it’s a bit of a habit. This year is going to be the year though, whether I like it or not.

Do you listen to music while you write?

I used to listen to a lot of music, especially if I was trying to get warmed up before diving into a project. I’d just put everything on shuffle and write short scenes to each song that came on until I felt inspired. With my current project, I’m having a really hard time finding music that suits my fantasy setting. If anyone has any recommendations, especially for spotify playlists, that would be great!

Is there a special ritual you have before or after you write?

Unless going through my WIP Inspiration board on Pinterest counts, not particularly. Before I start writing every day, I do like to record my wordcount from the day before so that I can either feel pumped about how awesome I did yesterday, or motivated to do better.

What do you do to get into the mood to write?

I won’t lie and say that I’m always in the mood to write, but because of all of my responsibilities to other people and things, I like to remind myself that this is a project I’m doing just for myself, and that usually motivates me. For me, it’s more of getting over the times when you don’t feel like writing and just getting something down, even if it’s only a sentence.

What is always near the place you write?

There’s not a lot of related things I like to keep near me, although my water bottle and phone are two things that I just always keep on or near my person. I like to keep blank paper and a notebook nearby for when I need to sketch things out.

Do you have a reward system for your word count?

Right now, I’m not so much focused on word count as i am on just keeping the habit of writing everyday, even if it includes a creative writing assignment. I do try to record the progress I make with my project every day, since it helps me stay motivated.

Is there anything about your writing process that others might not know about?

I don’t know. I’m not a huge fan of planning everything out ahead of time, I guess. I tend to do a lot more prewriting than actual outlining, until I can get a feel for who my characters are and how their motivations are going to drive my story.

Well, that’s all the questions! Now, it’s time for the fun part! I’m going to tag…

  1. Brandy Frank
  2. Rae Oestreich
  3. Victoria Fry

The Questions:

Is there a certain snack you like to eat while writing?

When do you normally write? Night, afternoon, or morning?

Where do you write?

How often do you write a new novel?

Do you listen to music while you write?

What do you write on? Laptop or paper?

Is there a special ritual you have before or after you write?

What do you do to get into the mood to write?

What is always near the place you write?

Do you have a reward system for your word count?

Is there anything about your writing process that others might not know about?

Let the games begin! Make sure to leave a link to your post in the comments!

If you want have any questions or comments, make sure to drop them off below, or you can tweet at me using @SpunFromInk. Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Sharing my Secrets: Behind the Scenes Writing Tag

Leave a Reply

