To Be Read Pile: Star Wars Trilogy, All Our Yesterdays, and The Scorch Trials

Spun From Ink’s August Reading List

August Reading Goals ImageSomething that I really wanted to do this summer was read more. I was going to get my library cards renewed to get the sequels for some of my favorite books, and I was going to finally finish the pile of books that I had started over the last year for the sake of my sanity.
Unfortunately, my currently reading pile remains right where it was when the summer started, although I have read a lot (200+) of comics thanks to my Marvel Unlimited subscription. Lucky for me, there is a still a month left of summer, and I am looking forward to a long drive down to Ohio and an even longer bus ride home. Since my Pittsburgh trip last year helped me finish several books, I’m looking forward to using this time to help get caught up on my reading of both regular books and some comic series I’ve been neglecting.

Spun From Ink’s August Reading List

Currently Reading

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

I’m less than 100 pages away from finishing this book, and I’m hoping that I’ve gotten past the lagging part in the middle where I wanted to repeatedly hit my head against the wall. My interest in finishing this book comes from NevilleGirl’s fangirling and wanting to be able to have the amazing “book reader vs. movie watcher” discussions that my boyfriend and I had after watching The Maze Runner together.

The Star Wars Trilogy

I won’t brag about my shiny hardcover edition again, but I seriously need to do some catching up with reading this book! I think one of my main problems is that I don’t want to take it traveling with me because I don’t want it to get damaged. I really love the amazing details and background this book provides, and can’t wait to watch the movies again after reading this.To Be Read Pile: Star Wars Trilogy, All Our Yesterdays, and The Scorch Trials


To Be Read

All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terill

I bought this book at the beginning of the year at a friend’s recommendation, and I feel a little guilty or not starting it yet. Still, I am really excited to read something that sounds like it will be a bit of a twist from my usual.

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

I never ended up preordering this since I didn’t want to wait the paperback to be released to get the rest of the books I ordered at the beginning of the year. The good news is that there’s a copy at my library, so I don’t even have to worry about spending money if I don’t want to.

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

I’m a little nervous about reading this one, probably because I enjoyed Shadow and Bone so much and have really high expectations for its sequel. I still can’t wait to head down to my library and pick it up as soon as I get the chance.


Comics to Catch up On

Runaways

I got distracted from reading this awesome series by reading up on some of Marvel’s big events, like Civil War and Secret Invasion. I’m hoping that I will find enough downtime this month to at least get through Joss Whedon’s run.

Inhuman

I have a growing obsession with inhumans, started by watching Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D and only increased thanks to the new Ms. Marvel comics.

Thor and Loki: The Tenth Realm (Original Sin #5.1-5.5)

I found it! The backstory to Angela: Asgard’s Assasain. I am so happy to get to read more about her while waiting for more issues of her own series to be released on Marvel Unlimited.


Whew! That’s quite a bit of reading for me! If you want to keep up with my reading adventures, make sure to follow me on Goodreads! I’m hoping to still reach my goals of finishing 15 books by the end of 2015, even though I am painfully far behind at this point.
What books do you want to read before the end of summer? How are your summer reading goals coming along?
As always, I’d love to hear your responses and recommendations, so be sure to leave a comment in the box below! You can also always e-mail me at SpunFromInk@gmail.com, or tweet at me with @SpunFromInk!
Love,
Nicole

Related Posts

4 Comic Series I Love From Marvel Unlimited

Weekly Epic Link Round-Up (July 29, 2015)

10 Gift Ideas for Writers

2 thoughts on “Spun From Ink’s August Reading List

  1. I Loved the entire Shadow and Bone trilogy, and my cousin and I went through Grisha withdrawals they were AMAZING 😉 so…. hopefully you will like them too!! I loved the Maze Runner and read the entire series but I did get irritated about *secrets* and explanations just not being given or like ever, yeah. All of our Yesterdays is pretty good 🙂

    I wish I kept track of what I read each season / year. I typically read a book once a week (or two weeks.) I have to read to sleep at night so I read A LOT. lol I am currently reading Vitro by Jessica Khoury. I liked her debut Origin but I’m kinda bored with this one 😦 Annnnnd I just finished The Selection series which oddly enough, I loved. HA!

    I’ll find you on Goodreads!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I loved Shadow and Bone so much that I devoured it, but I just haven’t had the money to buy it or the motivation to go to my local library and get my card renewed. To be completely honest, I’ve been in a huge reading slump for a long time now, and I really just need to get back into the habit of enjoying a good book on a regular basis.

      Like

Leave a comment